EDIT MAIN
Plus_blue

Photo of student performers at Konocti Migrant Ed STAR Summer Program Performance

Migrant Education - Region 2

Migrant Education is a federally funded program designed to provide supplementary educational and support services to eligible migrant students. Currently, Region 2 has a cumulative enrollment of approximately 14,844 students (ages 3-21) in 22 Northern California Counties. The migrant population consists of numerous ethnic and language groups (Spanish, Punjabi, Hmong, Mien, Laos, Vietnamese, and English).

Region 2 is administered though the Butte County Office of Education. The Region is divided into three Areas. Santa Rosaserves the counties of Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Marin, Mendocino, and Sonoma. Woodland serves the counties of El Dorado, Napa, Placer, Sacramento, Solano, Sutter, Yolo, and Yuba. Oroville serves the counties of Butte, Colusa, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Shasta, Siskiyou, and Tehama.

Map showing county boundaries of 3 northern california Migrant Ed areas

CDE Migrant Education Regional Offices


California's State Migrant Education Office administers program services in collaboration with 23 regional offices statewide. You can access the map of regions and the list of names of directors and contact information for each regional office.

Region 2 is administered through the Butte County Office of Education.

The Region is divided into three Areas:

Santa Rosa serves the counties of Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Marin, Mendocino, and Sonoma.

Support Staff:

Alma Evans, Administrative Assistant, aevans@bcoe.org

Angelica Mora, Data Entry Clerk, amora@bcoe.org

Julian Ocegueda, Identification & Recruitment Specialist, ocegued@bcoe.org

Giselle Perry, School Counseling Specialist (MEAP), gperry@bcoe.org

Isabel Quiñonez, Instructional Program Specialist (North Sonoma County), lquinonez@bcoe.org

Maria E Vega, Senior Administrative Assistant, mvega@bcoe.org

Shushan Vetzmadian, Instructional Program Specialist (Lake County, svetzmad@bcoe.org

Sixto Sandoval, College Coordinator, ssandoval@bcoe.org

Contact:

Elaine Pearson - Associate Director
5510 Skylane Blvd., Suite 101C, Santa Rosa, CA 95403-1029
Phone: (707) 526-1272 ext 11
Fax: (707) 526-9724
Email


Woodland serves the counties of El Dorado, Napa, Placer, Sacramento, Solano, Sutter, Yolo, and Yuba.

Support Staff:

Alberto Aguilar, Senior Administrative Assistant, aaguilar@bcoe.org

Antonio Madrigal, Intervention Specialist, anmadrigal@bcoe.org

Estela Altamirano, Administrative Assistant, earriaga@bcoe.org

Jose Gomar, Instructional Program Specialist, jgomar@bcoe.org

Josefina Tenorio, Intervention Specialist, jtenorio@bcoe.org

Juan Manuel Garcia, Identification & Recruitment Specialist, jugarcia@bcoe.org

Maria Elena Quintero, Data Entry Clerk, mquinter@bcoe.org

Matthew Johnson, Instructional Program Specialist, mjohnson@bcoe.org

Rebecca Nuno, College Coordinator, rnuno@bcoe.org

Veronica Ocampo, MEAP Coordinator, vocampo@bcoe.org

Yazmin Navarro, Instructional Program Specialist, ynavarro@bcoe.org

Contact:

Associate Director
1210 Commerce Ave, Suite 3, Woodland, CA 95776-5902
Phone: (530) 666-1977 ext 104
Fax: (530) 666-7372


Oroville serves the counties of Butte, Colusa, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Shasta, Siskiyou, and Tehama.

Support Staff:

Delia De La Cerda, Senior Administrative Assistant, (530) 532-5855, ddelacer@bcoe.org

Cristina Espinoza, Identification & Recruitment Specialist, (530) 532-5738, cespinoz@bcoe.org

D. Michael Martinez, Instructional Program Specialist, (530) 458-7898, mimartin@bcoe.org

Penny Martinez, Data Entry Clerk, (530) 532-5753, pmartine@bcoe.org

Rosa Orozco, Intervention Specialist, (530) 473-5369 x11318, rorozco@bcoe.org

Sonia Ceballos, Intervention Specialist , (530) 846-2651 , sceballos@bcoe.org

Contact:

Associate Director
1870 Bird Street, Oroville, CA 95965
Phone: (530) 532-5739
Fax: (530) 532-3096

Identification and Recruitment

How to Identify Migrant Children


Each state is responsible for determining the number of migrant children residing within its boundaries. This can be a difficult task since the children who have the most need for services may not attend school. Furthermore, language and cultural barriers may make families hesitant to advocate for services on behalf of their children, particularly if they are not accustomed to looking for assistance from their child's school. Also, locations where migrant families reside may change due to changes in agriculture or in response to natural disasters affecting crop production. Therefore, it is important that states actively seek our migrant families and develop comprehensive recruitment plans that include both school-based and community-based activities.

Who Are Migrant Workers?


Migrant workers seek temporary or seasonal work in agriculture, fishing or related industries, including food processing. They follow the growing seasons across the country and are largely responsible for the cultivation and harvest of fruits, vegetables and many other food products.


Who is Eligible?


A child (ages 3-21) is considered "migrant" if the parent or guardian is a migratory worker in the agricultural, dairy, lumber (except lumber mills), or fishing industries and whose family has moved during the past three years. A "qualifying" move can range from moving across school district boundaries or from one state to another for the purpose of finding temporary or seasonal employment. A young adult may also qualify if he or she has moved on his own for the same reasons. The eligibility period is three years from the date of the last move. Eligibility is established through an interview conducted by a Migrant Education recruiter who visits both home and employment locations where migrant workers are employed. The law states that Migrant Education services are a priority for those students whose education has been interrupted during the current school year and who are failing, or are most at risk of failing to meet state content and performance standards.